Is Whey Protein Powder lactose free?
Not all whey protein powders are lactose free. Cheaper and less efficient whey protein powders are made with whey concentrate and can contain high lactose levels. If you are lactose intolerant you should select a whey protein powder with whey isolate or whey hydrolysate as the protein source. These has had the lactose content removed, though slight traces may still remain in some whey isolates. If you are acutely intolerant, egg protein powder offers a worthy alternative that is almost as efficient as whey and has some unique benefits of its own.