Is Protein Powder vegetarian?
Not all protein powders are vegetarian. However protein powders come from a great many sources and many of them are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. The only notable non-vegetarian protein is beef protein. Whey and casein protein are derived from milk. Egg protein is another notable source of protein used in some protein powders. Apart from these animal derived products there is a huge number of plant based proteins such as soy, rice, pea and hemp protein powder.
Animal sourced proteins are complete proteins and include all 9 essential amino acids. They are generally more easily digested. Plant proteins with the exception of soy are not complete proteins and a blend of different types of plant proteins are required in order to get a balanced amount of all essential amino acids. A common blend of both pea and rice protein is often used to achieve this.