Knowledge BaseYou're Questions Answered

BACK

Is protein powder halal?

In the case of plant-based proteins, of course, they are halal. However, when it comes to whey protein powder or casein, things get tricky.

Whey is a byproduct of the cheese-making process where milk is curdled by adding either "Rennet" or "pepsin". So if the whey is derived from the use of pepsin then it would not be halal. In the case of whey derived from Rennet, it would be halal if it was obtained from non-slaughtered animals or ritually slaughtered animals.

There are some products on the market which are certified, but these remain costly. We would recommend choosing a plant-based protein product for the best value in this case.

Related Questions
Related Reviews
The content on this site has not been written, reviewed or endorsed by a medical professional. We assume no liability for the misuse of supplements and recommend you review the label of any product, as well as consulting with your health care professional.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
magnifier