Knowledge BaseYou're Questions Answered


Is casein protein powder vegan?

Casein protein powder is not vegan. Casein is a type of protein derived from milk and is the primary protein found in dairy products. It is extracted from cow's milk using a process that separates the milk proteins from the fats and carbohydrates. Therefore, any product that contains casein, including casein protein powders, is derived from animal sources and not suitable for a vegan diet1.

Vegans looking for protein powder alternatives should consider plant-based options. There are several high-quality vegan protein powders available that are made from sources such as peas, rice, hemp, or soy. These plant-based protein powders offer an excellent alternative for those who avoid animal products2.


  1. Hoffman, J. R., & Falvo, M. J. (2004). Protein – Which is Best? Journal of Sports Science and Medicine, 3(3), 118-130.
  2. Campbell, B., Kreider, R. B., Ziegenfuss, T., La Bounty, P., Roberts, M., Burke, D., ... & Antonio, J. (2007). International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: protein and exercise. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 4, 8.
The content on this site has not been written, reviewed or endorsed by a medical professional. We assume no liability for the misuse of supplements and recommend you review the label of any product, as well as consulting with your health care professional.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.